Getting back on track

My 500 Words – Day 1

Like many of the posts I have read from other My 500 Words authors, I joined this group to get my writing back on schedule. That sounds so easy.

I am in my 40s and recently (December 2013) graduated from college with my Bachelor’s Degree in Communication. As I worked through my many writing assignments I wrote a lot of research papers that were eventually referred to as essays. There was something special about that word essay. I learned something about myself while writing them. I love writing them! I love researching the topic. I love piecing together the essay and finding just the right hooks to connect one concept to the next. In the beginning the process might feel daunting but once the rhythm starts, the words form quicker in my head than I can get them out of my head and onto the paper. The essay takes shape.

So if I love writing essays and I can write about what I want to now rather than another professor-assigned topic, why am I not writing every day? Well, I have let so many things from my overflowing schedule push writing to the bottom of my to-do list. And every single day that eats away at me.

I have finally come to terms with the fact that I have said yes to so many tasks and overloaded myself to the point that my passion, the passion I know comes from God, is not a priority. It’s not a priority in my professional or personal life. It needs to be. It must be. I need to make some necessary changes in 2015 that will be difficult but they are critical to this new phase of my life. I have been working toward this for so many years. I can’t allow another year to go by while I say “someday” because we all know “someday” never comes. Just sitting down to type this first post makes me feel alive. It reminds me that I am a writer. It’s time to say that out loud and be a writer and not just think about being a writer.

I have a daughter in her mid-20s. I am trying to encourage her to follow what makes her happy. But how can I do that if I am spending my life working to make other people’s dreams come to pass while not pursuing my own? That just doesn’t make sense to me. I have a three-year old grandson, too. Just the other day when he said, “I can’t” I told him he could do anything he sets his mind to. And then I thought, so can his Nana. This is who I am. I am a writer. I am a blogger. I am studying Business-to-Business copywriting and will soon add B2B content creator to that list.

Fellow My 500 Words authors, I welcome you to my journey. I am very excited to be at the beginning of what I know will be a life-altering adventure. I am excited to a part of your journeys, too. We are all in this together so let’s start 2015 off right! Let’s get writing!!

Leave a Reply

